Middle School Honor Roll / Recognition

  • Middle School Honor Roll/Recognition

    The standards-based report card is sent home three times a year and places an emphasis on growth, understanding, and mastery of standards over time.  Students are evaluated on sets of standards in each content area, and progress is reported in relation to expected levels of performance based on instruction during the trimester. Students also are evaluated on their work habits and social skills, as feedback in these areas is an important part of the communication between school and home. Student progress toward achieving the standards is reported using the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.

    1 = does not meet standard

    2 = meets some but not all of the standard

    3 = meets standard

    4 = meets and sometimes exceeds the standard

    5 = exceeds the standard

    Students who earn a 3 have demonstrated the skills and knowledge required to meet and master a standard, which requires hard work and effort.  Students who earn a 4 or 5 are able to demonstrate advanced applications of the standard.

    In consideration of Standards Based Grading we have reviewed our current honor roll system and adjusted it to provide a more comprehensive view of our students’ successes in individual areas by including all subjects each trimester.  Students will now be recognized for achievement for both academic, as well as their Life Long Learning Skills as both are critical for college and career readiness in the 21st Century.

    Given this philosophy, staff members from both middle schools along with building and district administrators have met to develop this plan and feel it will recognize students’ individual strengths.  Criteria for this recognition are listed below. 

    • Award subject area Trimester Academic Merit to students (6th, 7th, 8th) per subject (to include all subjects).

    o  Criterion: Student receives a 4 or 5 standard based rating in strand(s) for that subject area.

    o  Students with these ratings will be able to attain Merit Recognition for any subject area on their schedule.

    • Life Long Learning Merit recognition.

    o  Criterion:  50 points on LLS (with no 2 or 1 standards based ratings).  This is a composite of the 15 LLS standard ratings.